Library Haul

I ran out of books that I wanted to read, so it was time for another trip to the library so I could wander around the lonely aisles and try to make sense of the shelving. This time, I had a couple of books on my list to keep an eye out for.

Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel

I rushed down to my library after noticing that it had a copy of this book available on its shelves and restricted from being held (there were hundreds of holds) and sent to other libraries. Score. Station Eleven has been getting a lot of praise and people seem genuinely disappointed that it didn’t make the Hugo ballot. It has to be good… right? {“Eh,” he says, writing this a week after having returned from the library.}

Mort(e), Robert Pepino

I saw this mentioned somewhere before I went to the library and there it was on the same shelf as Station Eleven, so I figured that I would give it a go. I have to admit that I am wary of any book that features a cast of animals (even evolved and anthropomorphic), but it has been a pretty decent book so far. Considering that this book just came out a couple of months ago and I have seen no one talking about it, it may have flown below the radar.

A Visit from the Good Squad, by Jennifer Egan

I had a chance to pick this up as an ARC back when it was release, but waffled about too long and missed the window. I was disappointed, but I was sure that I would get around to it eventually. Four years isn’t that long… is it?

The Compleat Terminal City, by Dean Motter and Michael Lark

Tired of wandering around the aisles trying to pick something out from the mix-n-match hell of my library’s shelves, I decided to just give up and check the graphic novels section before leaving. This one looked interesting, but I’m a quarter of the way through and find myself incapable of giving a shit about the rest of it. Probably won’t continue.

Daytripper, by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba

Another graphic novel. I know nothing about this one, but the blurbs suggest that it is something wonderful. Actually, the art is appealing and the story sounds like it will be right up my alley, so we’ll see how this one turns out.

Leave a Reply

