Struggling On – To the Library and Back Again

I started off with a rule that I could only check out one book at a time, but that didn’t last long. Going to the library that often is too much of a hassle, especially since it is tucked into an annoying location. I seem to have settled on four books per trip, which seems to be working. Anyway, this week’s trip resulted in the following books:

After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress

I was in the mood for some space opera, but I didn’t realize until it was too late that the only author I know from that subgenre is James. S.A. Corey and I am up to date on The Expanse. This was one of the few recognizable titles in the SFF section of my library and I’ve been tempted by it in the past, so I decided to go with it instead of taking a chance on something chosen at random.

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

This one has been a long time coming. I once borrowed this from the library for my mom and made the mistake of taking a glance at the first page before getting out of the car. I spent an hour reading it in the garage before I was chased indoors by the summer heat. It was good, but I didn’t continue reading it because I was serious about the reviewing thing and had a ton of other books on my plate. I’m looking forward to this one.

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

I’ve got nothing. People seemed to like this one back when it was released in 2012 and I was tempted to read it then but never did. Always late to the party.

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

I am apprehensive about this one. The book sounds great and Beukes’ previous novels have received all sorts of praise, but I can’t help but notice that her first two books were published by Angry Robot Books. Does that sounds like a weird reason to worry? I attempted to read a dozen or so of their releases and managed to finish only one of them. I gave up after that. We obviously weren’t compatible and I wasn’t going to waste my time trying and failing to read their books. Now I just view them as a taint upon their authors, apparently.

I am going to hope for the best with this one.

{Note: I’m posting these sorts of posts under ‘Struggling On’ because I refer to my crawl back from burnout as ‘The Struggle.’ A bit melodramatic, but I pretty much stopped reading for 3/4 of a year and feel like I have the right to be so.}

Leave a Reply

